Skip to content

Best Home Backup Batteries for Power Outages 2026: Any Size

Five home backup batteries compared on capacity, output, recharge speed and UPS switchover, with a simple way to estimate how long each will run your essentials.

Research Desk
Editor-approved · Updated October 22, 2026

21 products compared · Research-based · Affiliate links

The best home backup batteries for power outages keep your essentials running when the grid drops, and the right one depends mostly on how much you need to power and for how long. We compared 21 candidates and narrowed them to five, from light 1kWh-class units to a 3600Wh expandable system. This guide is based on manufacturer specs and independent expert recommendations, so you can match a battery to your home without wading through spec sheets.

Most readers arrive with one worry: will it switch over cleanly, and will it be a nuisance when the lights go out? We cover UPS switchover times where the makers publish them. We also say plainly where the specs are silent, including on alarm tones and quiet modes.

Best Home Backup Batteries for Power Outages at a Glance

Product Label Capacity Continuous output Weight UPS switchover Buy
Bluetti Elite 200 V2 Best Overall 2,073.6Wh 2,600W 53.4 lbs Not stated Check price
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 Best Value 1070Wh 1500W 23.8 lbs under 20ms Check price
Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 Best Budget 1024Wh 2000W 24.9 lbs 10ms Check price
Jackery HomePower 3000 Also Great 3,072Wh 3,600W 59.5 lbs ≤20ms Check price
EcoFlow DELTA Pro Premium Pick 3600Wh 3600W 99 lbs Not stated Check price

Bluetti Elite 200 V2: Best Overall for Balanced Power and Capacity

01
Best Overall
Bluetti Elite 200 V2
8.9
Bluetti Elite 200 V2
Check price on Amazon

Specs from bluettipower.com

Best for: Homeowners wanting balanced capacity, power and long-term durability

The Elite 200 V2 balances capacity, output and recharge speed better than the others here. Its long-life LiFePO4 cells and strong solar input make it a dependable home backup.

Read our full Bluetti Elite 200 V2 review →
Charging time
50 minutes 0-80%, 1.4 hours to full
Capacity
2,073.6Wh
Battery life
6,000+ cycles to 80% / 17 years
Weight
53.4 lbs (24.2 kg)
Output
2,600W continuous (3,900W Power Lifting)
Ports
4× AC outlets, 2× USB-C (100W), 2× USB-A (15W), 1× 12V car outlet

Reasons to buy

  • 2,073.6Wh LiFePO4 capacity covers extended outages for key appliances
  • 2,600W continuous output with 3,900W Power Lifting for demanding loads
  • Fast 50-minute 0-80% recharge between outages
  • 1,000W solar input enables quick off-grid recharging
  • Rated for 6,000+ cycles, about 17 years of daily use

Reasons to avoid

  • Heavy at 53.4 lbs, so it is better kept in place
  • Mid-range price tier costs more than the compact 1kWh units
Expert reviews · average of 6
TechRadar
8.0
Bob Vila
10.0
Trusted Reviews
10.0
Portable Power Pick
9.0
Off Grid Benchmark
7.9
WikiGenerators
8.4

The Bluetti Elite 200 V2 is our best overall pick because it balances capacity, output and recharge speed better than the other units here. It pairs a 2,073.6Wh LiFePO4 battery with 2,600W of continuous output. It suits homeowners who want a dependable backup that will last for years.

Keep reading about Bluetti Elite 200 V2

The Elite 200 V2 can lift demanding loads, with 3,900W of peak output (Power Lifting). It charges from 0-80% in 50 minutes and reaches full in 1.4 hours, which helps if outages come back to back. Solar input goes up to 1,000W, so it can recharge quickly off-grid. The battery is rated for 6,000+ cycles, about 17 years of daily use, and the warranty is 5 years.

Ports include 4× AC outlets, 2× USB-C (100W), 2× USB-A and a 12V car outlet. Bluetti says it runs up to 9 devices at once and that the design is 40% smaller than predecessor models. Reviewers back it up: Trusted Reviews gave it 5 out of 5 and WikiGenerators scored it 8.4/10. It is also recommended in 7 expert guides.

The main trade-off is weight. At 53.4 lbs it is better left in one place than carried around. It also costs more than the compact 1kWh units. The published specs don't give a UPS switchover time, so if that figure matters to you, check Bluetti's documentation first.

Jackery Explorer 1000 v2: Best Value for Light, Budget Backup

02
Best Value
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2
8.6
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2
Check price on Amazon

Specs from jackery.com

Best for: Budget shoppers covering essentials during short outages

The Explorer 1000 v2 delivers solid output and a long-life battery in a light, budget-tier package. It's a smart pick for covering essentials during short outages.

Read our full Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 review →
Charging time
1 hour (emergency mode), 1.58 hours (AC adapter)
Capacity
1070 Wh
Battery life
4000 cycles to 70% capacity
Weight
23.8 lbs (10.8 kg)
Output
1500W continuous, 3000W surge
Ports
3× AC 120V, 2× USB-C (100W + 30W), 1× USB-A, 1× 12V car port

Reasons to buy

  • 1500W continuous and 3000W surge run most household appliances
  • Only 23.8 lbs with foldable handle, easy to move
  • 1-hour emergency fast charge via app mode
  • LiFePO4 cells rated for 4000 cycles
  • 5-year warranty with registration

Reasons to avoid

  • 1070Wh capacity suits essentials, not whole-day outages
  • 400W solar input recharges slower than larger rivals
Expert reviews · average of 10
TechRadar
9.0
Android Police
9.0
The Drive
9.0
OutdoorGearLab
6.7
Backup Power Hub
8.6
OffGrid Benchmark
8.5
Power Station Pick
9.1
Outdoor Tech Lab
9.2
Energia Solar Pro
8.9
GadgetGuy
8.4

The Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 earns Best Value by delivering strong output and a long-life battery in a light, budget-tier package. It suits shoppers who want to cover essentials during short outages without spending heavily.

Keep reading about Jackery Explorer 1000 v2

It offers 1500W of continuous output and 3000W of surge, which Jackery says covers most household appliances. The 1070Wh LiFePO4 battery is rated for 4000 cycles, or 10+ years of use. At 23.8 lbs with a foldable handle it is easy to move around the house. The Explorer 1000 v2 also has ChargeShield 2.0 with UPS switchover under 20ms. An app-enabled emergency mode charges it from 0-100% in 1 hour. The warranty is 5 years with registration (3 years standard plus 2 extended).

Expert reviewers rate it well. The Drive scored it 9/10 and Power Station Pick gave it 9.05/10. It is recommended in 8 expert guides, the joint-highest count in this group.

The trade-offs are runtime and solar charging. The 1070Wh capacity suits essentials rather than whole-day outages. The 400W solar input also recharges more slowly than larger rivals.

Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2: Best Budget for Fast Recharging

03
Best Budget
Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2
8.5
Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2
Check price on Amazon

Specs from anker.com, support.ankersolix.com

Best for: Budget buyers needing fast recharging and CPAP backup

The C1000 Gen 2 stands out for extremely fast recharging and high output at a budget tier. Its quick UPS switchover protects sensitive devices like CPAP machines.

Read our full Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 review →
Charging time
49 minutes (0-100% with UltraFast), 1.8 hours (600W solar)
Capacity
1024Wh
Battery life
4000 cycles to 80% capacity
Weight
24.9 lb / 11.3 kg
Output
2000W continuous, 3000W peak
Ports
5 AC outlets, 3 USB-C (1x 15W, 2x 140W), 1 USB-A (12W), 1 car socket (120W)

Reasons to buy

  • Charges fully in 49 minutes with HyperFlash technology
  • 2000W continuous and 3000W peak output
  • 10 ports, including 5 AC outlets, for many devices
  • 10ms UPS switchover suits CPAP machines and laptops
  • App Time-of-Use mode helps optimize charging costs

Reasons to avoid

  • 1024Wh capacity limits runtime for heavier appliances
  • 600W solar input is lower than some competitors
Expert reviews · average of 6
MacRumors
9.0
Android Authority
9.0
How-To Geek
8.0
OutdoorGearLab
7.0
Technerdo
9.0
Backup Power Hub
9.0

The Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 is the Best Budget pick for buyers who want fast recharging and quick UPS switchover. It is also the only pick whose facts name CPAP machines as a suitable use. Anker describes it as the fastest-charging 1024Wh power station, going from empty to full in 49 minutes.

Keep reading about Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2

Output is generous for its size: 2000W continuous and 3000W peak across 10 ports, including 5 AC outlets. UPS switchover takes 10ms, the quickest time stated for any pick in this guide. Anker says that suits essential devices such as CPAP machines and laptops. At 24.9 lbs it is portable, and the LiFePO4 battery is rated for 4000 cycles and a 10-year lifespan. Solar input is 600W, which charges it in approximately 1.8 hours. App control includes a Time-of-Use mode to help optimize charging costs.

Reviewers like it. Outdoor Gear Lab scored it 4.8 out of 5, and it is recommended in 6 expert guides.

The compromises are capacity and solar. 1024Wh limits runtime on heavier appliances, and the 600W solar input is lower than some competitors'.

Jackery HomePower 3000: Also Great for Multi-Day Essentials

04
Also Great
Jackery HomePower 3000
8.4
Jackery HomePower 3000
Check price on Amazon

Specs from jackery.com

Best for: Households wanting multi-day essentials backup in a compact unit

The HomePower 3000 offers large capacity and strong output in a relatively compact 3kWh unit. Its long-term charge retention suits a standby unit awaiting the next outage.

Read our full Jackery HomePower 3000 review →
Charging time
2.2 hours (AC) / 1.7 hours (AC+DC combined)
Capacity
3,072Wh
Battery life
4,000+ cycles to 70% capacity
Weight
59.5 lbs (27 kg)
Output
3,600W continuous (7,200W surge)
Ports
4× 120V AC outlets, 1× 30A TT-30 RV port, 2× USB-C (100W), 2× USB-A, 1× DC port, 1× car port

Reasons to buy

  • 3,072Wh capacity can power essentials for one to two days
  • 3,600W continuous and 7,200W surge handle big loads
  • Seamless UPS switchover of 20ms or less
  • ZeroDrain keeps 95% charge after 12 months in storage
  • 30A RV port adds flexibility for home and travel

Reasons to avoid

  • 59.5 lbs makes it a hassle to move often
  • Mid-range price tier is above the smaller 1kWh options
Expert reviews · average of 4
SolarPowerGuides
8.6
BoostMyTruck
7.2
BackupPowerHub
8.4
Bob Vila
9.5

The Jackery HomePower 3000 is the pick for households that want multi-day essentials backup in a relatively compact unit. Its 3,072Wh capacity and 3,600W continuous output (7,200W surge) are the kind of numbers that cover a longer outage, and Jackery says it can power essential home appliances for 1-2 days.

Keep reading about Jackery HomePower 3000

It includes a seamless UPS with a switchover of ≤20ms. ZeroDrain technology retains 95% charge after 12 months of storage, which suits a unit that mostly sits waiting for the next outage. Ports include 4× 120V AC outlets and a 30A TT-30 RV port, so it works for home and travel. Charging takes 2.2 hours on AC or 1.7 hours with AC and DC combined. The LiFePO4 battery is rated for 4,000+ cycles, and the warranty is 5 years (3 + 2 extended). Jackery calls it the world's smallest 3kWh LFP power station, at 59.5 lbs.

Bob Vila scored it 9.5/10, and it is recommended in 7 expert guides.

The downside is that 59.5 lbs is a hassle if you move it often. The mid-range price tier also sits above the smaller 1kWh-class options.

EcoFlow DELTA Pro: Premium Pick for Expandable Power

05
Premium Pick
EcoFlow DELTA Pro
8.8
EcoFlow DELTA Pro
Check price on Amazon

Specs from us.ecoflow.com

Best for: Large households wanting expandable, high-power whole-home backup

The DELTA Pro is built for maximum power and growth, with expandable capacity and high-wattage output. It suits larger homes that need to run heavy appliances and may add batteries later.

Read our full EcoFlow DELTA Pro review →
Charging time
2.7 hours AC (1800W at 120V), 2.8-5.6 hours solar (1600W max)
Capacity
3600Wh
Battery life
6500 cycles to 50% capacity, 3500 cycles to 80% capacity
Weight
99 lbs / 45 kg
Output
3600W AC (Surge 7200W)
Ports
15 total: 5 AC outlets, 2 USB-A, 2 USB-A fast charge, 2 USB-C, 1 car charger, 2 DC5521, 1 Anderson

Reasons to buy

  • 3600Wh LiFePO4 battery expandable to 25kWh with extra batteries
  • 3600W AC output, 7200W surge, 4500W with X-Boost
  • 15 ports including 5 AC outlets and 30A Anderson
  • Recharges in 2.7 hours via AC, with solar and EV station support
  • 6500W MultiCharge input for flexible charging

Reasons to avoid

  • Heavy at 99 lbs, practically stationary once installed
  • Premium price tier is the highest of this group
Expert reviews · average of 4
OutdoorGearLab
8.0
Backup Power Hub
9.1
Wiki Generators
8.5
The Backyard Mag
9.6

The EcoFlow DELTA Pro is the Premium Pick for large households that want high output and room to grow. It is the only product here whose facts describe capacity expansion. Its 3600Wh LiFePO4 battery expands up to 10.8kWh with two Smart Extra Batteries, and EcoFlow cites a 25kWh ecosystem.

Keep reading about EcoFlow DELTA Pro

Output is 3600W AC with 7200W surge, and X-Boost supports up to 4500W for high-demand appliances. There are 15 ports, including 5 AC outlets and a 30A Anderson port. Charging is flexible, with 6500W MultiCharge input, 2.7 hours on AC, and solar and EV station support. Battery life is rated at 3500 cycles to 80% capacity.

Reviewers rate it highly. Backup Power Hub scored it 9.1/10 and The Backyard Mag gave it 4.8 out of 5. It is recommended in 8 expert guides.

The trade-off is size and cost. At 99 lbs it is practically stationary once installed, and it is the most expensive tier in this group. The warranty is 24 months plus 36 months with registration.

Compare our picks side by side

The specs most of our picks share, from each maker’s spec page (— = not published). Expert score = the average of published expert reviews, which rate each product for its price. Scroll sideways on small screens.

SpecBluetti Elite 200 V2Jackery Explorer 1000 v2Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2Jackery HomePower 3000EcoFlow DELTA Pro
Best forBest OverallBest ValueBest BudgetAlso GreatPremium Pick
Expert score8.98.68.58.48.8
Price vs. these picksMiddleLowerLowerMiddleHigher
Charging time50 minutes 0-80%, 1.4 hours to full1 hour (emergency mode), 1.58 hours (AC adapter)49 minutes (0-100% with UltraFast), 1.8 hours (600W solar)2.2 hours (AC) / 1.7 hours (AC+DC combined)2.7 hours AC (1800W at 120V), 2.8-5.6 hours solar (1600W max)
Capacity2,073.6Wh1070 Wh1024Wh3,072Wh3600Wh
Battery life6,000+ cycles to 80% / 17 years4000 cycles to 70% capacity4000 cycles to 80% capacity4,000+ cycles to 70% capacity6500 cycles to 50% capacity, 3500 cycles to 80% capacity
Weight53.4 lbs (24.2 kg)23.8 lbs (10.8 kg)24.9 lb / 11.3 kg59.5 lbs (27 kg)99 lbs / 45 kg
Output2,600W continuous (3,900W Power Lifting)1500W continuous, 3000W surge2000W continuous, 3000W peak3,600W continuous (7,200W surge)3600W AC (Surge 7200W)
Ports4× AC outlets, 2× USB-C (100W), 2× USB-A (15W), 1× 12V car outlet3× AC 120V, 2× USB-C (100W + 30W), 1× USB-A, 1× 12V car port5 AC outlets, 3 USB-C (1x 15W, 2x 140W), 1 USB-A (12W), 1 car socket (120W)4× 120V AC outlets, 1× 30A TT-30 RV port, 2× USB-C (100W), 2× USB-A, 1× DC port, 1× car port15 total: 5 AC outlets, 2 USB-A, 2 USB-A fast charge, 2 USB-C, 1 car charger, 2 DC5521, 1 Anderson
Warranty5 years5 years (3 years standard + 2 years extended with registration)5 years5 years (3 + 2 extended)24 months plus 36 months with registration
Battery ChemistryLiFePO4—LiFePO4LiFePO4LiFePO4 (LFP)
Where to buyCheck priceCheck priceCheck priceCheck priceCheck price
Free toolHow long would each of these run your fridge, router or CPAP?Pick your devices and compare runtimes in our power station runtime calculator.Calculate →

How to Choose Among the Best Home Backup Batteries for Power Outages

Start with capacity and the loads you care about

Capacity (Wh) is how much energy the battery holds, and output (W) is how much it can supply at once. List what you must keep running, then check that its running wattage is below the unit's continuous output. Use the appliance's label for wattage. We don't print generic appliance figures because they vary by model.

For a rough runtime, use this estimate: capacity in Wh × 0.85 ÷ the load in watts. The 0.85 allows for conversion losses, so treat the answer as approximate. You can run your own numbers in our battery runtime calculator. Applied to something like a fridge, a router or a CPAP, this shows quickly why a 1kWh-class unit suits short outages and a 3kWh-class unit suits longer ones. Only the HomePower 3000 comes with a manufacturer claim: 1-2 days for essential home appliances.

Check UPS switchover and what the specs don't say

A UPS (pass-through) function switches to battery when the grid fails so plugged-in devices keep running. The stated times are 10ms for the Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2, under 20ms for the Explorer 1000 v2 and ≤20ms for the HomePower 3000. No switchover time appears in the published specs for the Bluetti Elite 200 V2 or the EcoFlow DELTA Pro, so confirm with the maker if you plan to protect sensitive electronics.

A common search is for a battery that doesn't beep during an outage. The specs we drew on don't describe alert tones, fan noise or a quiet or eco mode for any of these five. We won't claim any of them is silent. If that matters, check the manual or ask the manufacturer before you buy.

Weigh weight, recharge speed and growth

The Explorer 1000 v2 (23.8 lbs) and the C1000 Gen 2 (24.9 lbs) are the easiest to move. The Elite 200 V2 (53.4 lbs), HomePower 3000 (59.5 lbs) and DELTA Pro (99 lbs) are better as fixed installs. Fast recharging also helps with repeated outages, and the Anker (49 minutes to full) and the Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 (1 hour in emergency mode) lead there. If you may want more capacity later, only the DELTA Pro's facts describe expansion.

If you plan to recharge from the sun, solar input ranges from 400W on the Explorer 1000 v2 to 1600W max on the DELTA Pro. Our Renogy E.Flex solar panel review covers a portable panel you could pair with one.

How We Picked

We compared 21 candidates and kept the five that gave the clearest spread of sizes and budgets. This guide is based on manufacturer specs and independent expert recommendations, not our own hands-on testing. We weighed capacity, continuous and surge output, recharge speed, solar input, battery life, warranty and weight. We also looked at how many independent expert guides recommend each product and what reviewers consistently praise or criticize. Prices change often, so use the live check price buttons for current deals.

Bottom Line

For most homes, the Bluetti Elite 200 V2 is the best balance of capacity, output and recharge speed. The Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 is the smart value pick for short outages, and the Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 is the budget choice for fast recharging and CPAP backup. If you need to ride out a day or two, the Jackery HomePower 3000 fits. Choose the EcoFlow DELTA Pro if you want expandable, high-power backup and don't mind the weight.

Ready to buy?

  • Bluetti Elite 200 V2
    Best OverallBluetti Elite 200 V2
    Check price
  • Jackery Explorer 1000 v2
    Best ValueJackery Explorer 1000 v2
    Check price
  • Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2
    Best BudgetAnker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2
    Check price
  • Jackery HomePower 3000
    Also GreatJackery HomePower 3000
    Check price
  • EcoFlow DELTA Pro
    Premium PickEcoFlow DELTA Pro
    Check price

Frequently asked questions

Will a power station beep during an outage?

The specs we reviewed don't say. None of the manufacturer pages for these five describe alert tones, fan noise or a quiet or eco mode, so we can't promise any of them is silent. UPS switchover speed (10ms on the Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2, under 20ms or ≤20ms on the two Jackery units) tells you how fast power transfers, not whether it makes noise. If silence matters, check the manual or ask the maker.

Which home backup battery switches over fastest?

The Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2: 10ms. The Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 lists under 20ms and the Jackery HomePower 3000 lists ≤20ms. The specs for the Bluetti Elite 200 V2 and EcoFlow DELTA Pro don't give a switchover time.

How long will a power station run a refrigerator?

It depends on the fridge's wattage and the battery's capacity. Estimate it with capacity in Wh × 0.85 ÷ the fridge's running watts, and treat the result as approximate. Of these five, only the Jackery HomePower 3000 comes with a manufacturer claim, saying it can power essential home appliances for 1-2 days. The battery runtime calculator can do the sums for you.

Can a power station run a CPAP machine during an outage?

The Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 is the pick whose facts name CPAP machines, citing its 10ms UPS backup. Check your CPAP's power draw against any unit's output and capacity. The published specs don't make a CPAP claim for the other four.

Which home backup battery can be expanded?

The EcoFlow DELTA Pro: up to 10.8kWh with two Smart Extra Batteries. EcoFlow also cites a 25kWh ecosystem. The specs for the other four picks don't describe expansion.

What is the best backup battery for a long outage?

The Jackery HomePower 3000 or the EcoFlow DELTA Pro. The HomePower 3000 has 3,072Wh and is claimed to cover essentials for 1-2 days. The DELTA Pro has 3600Wh and can grow with extra batteries, though it weighs 99 lbs.

How do I estimate backup battery runtime?

Divide usable energy by the load: capacity in Wh × 0.85 ÷ the device's watts gives approximate hours. The 0.85 allows for conversion losses, so it is an estimate rather than a guarantee. Add up the wattage of everything you plan to run at once, and make sure the total stays under the unit's continuous output.

Are LiFePO4 power stations safe to use indoors?

All five picks use LiFePO4 (lithium iron phosphate) batteries. Unlike a gas generator, a battery power station gives off no exhaust, which is why people keep them inside for outages. Follow the maker's manual on placement and ventilation, and keep the unit away from water.

Do I need a whole-house battery or a portable power station?

A portable unit covers essentials, while an expandable system can grow toward whole-home backup. The Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 and Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 suit essentials during short outages. The Jackery HomePower 3000 can power essential home appliances for 1-2 days, according to Jackery. The EcoFlow DELTA Pro is the only pick here that expands: up to 10.8kWh with two Smart Extra Batteries, within an ecosystem EcoFlow cites at 25kWh.

Can I control a home backup battery from my phone?

Yes, on some picks. The Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 has an app-enabled emergency mode that charges it from 0-100% in 1 hour, and the Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 has an app Time-of-Use mode to help optimize charging costs. Check each maker's app page for the alerts and controls you need.

Which backup battery holds its charge longest in storage?

The Jackery HomePower 3000. Its ZeroDrain technology keeps 95% charge after 12 months of storage, which suits a unit that mostly waits for the next outage.

Sources

Specs are taken from the manufacturers' official pages; expert recommendations from the publications below.

  • Bluetti Elite 200 V2: bluettipower.com, solargenreview.com, backuppowerhub.com, storagereview.com
  • Jackery Explorer 1000 v2: jackery.com, outboundpower.com, thedrive.com, offgridsource.com
  • Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2: anker.com, support.ankersolix.com, service.ankersolix.com, outboundpower.com
  • Jackery HomePower 3000: jackery.com, thesolarlab.com, solarguyspro.com, backuppowerhub.com
  • EcoFlow DELTA Pro: us.ecoflow.com, bhphotovideo.com, satellitephonestore.com, electricgeneratordepot.com

More buying guides